Hopes Dashed During Floods 2010 Are Being Revived

Posted: March 22, 2011 in News and Views

By Ali Palh -report by Shakeel Abro

Hope is the most exciting thing in the world. Hopes dashed by the floods 2010 are being revived in Pakistan by both individual and collective efforts . “Reviving Hope” initiative is one of such collective efforts of AHAN under its project Aik Hunar Aik Ghar has successfully revived hope, at least in some parts and pockets of the country.

Women Artisans with Organizers

I was exposed to the great work of AHAN during my last Pakistan visit by my colleague Shakeel Abro, who has huge potential and leadership skills  this field. He has not only innovative ideas but he knows how to execute them efficiently. Being a colleague, I learned one thing from him: If you are not learning, you are not growing. If you are not growing, you are not progressing towards excellence. I found him a factory of ideas. Reviving Hope must be one of it. When Shakeel emailed me report of an exhibition called “Reviving Hope” Embellished Textile Exhibition, organized by AHAN held at the Expo Center, Lahore, I was surprised to see the number of participation and the miracles of skills and talents our women artisans have.

Nafisa Shah- Member National Assembly Visits Exhibition and Talk to Organziers

The devastating floods 2010 placed one-fifth of Pakistan’s total land area under water, which severely impacted 20 million people across the country AHAN sources shared. Artisans are among other badly affected skilled workers who were worst hit by the floods. According to AHAN sources, countrywide approximately 750,000 home-bound women constitute the artisan work-force who earns their incomes through embellished textiles. Assessing the urgent need on ground to help these artisans restore their livelihoods, AHAN Pakistan implemented the Livelihoods Recovery Support Program directed at helping these women. Through this project 6,000 flood-affected artisans in Pakistan including 2500 craftswomen in 9 districts of Sindh were provided micro-grants (scissors, thread, hoops, fabric, patterns, and some design assistance) in order to help them build back their inventories and to provide them immediate market access and market links through the exhibition.

Greatest Talents Often Lie Buried Out of Sight-You Recognized it?

The three day exhibition will  show case the work of 6,000 women represented by 300 Female Sale Agents (FSA) in 150 booths according to AHAN sources. The exhibition is being implemented by Entrepreneurs’ partner AHAN (Aik HuAik Nagar) a nationally recognized dedicated to assisting artisans from all sectors and provinces of Pakistan.Thanks AHAN, Shakeel Abro and his team who provided artisans , particularly women this great opportunity to find ways to earn dignified living through their skills instead of waiting for aid. I hope AHAN will continue this great work in all provinces and parts of Pakistan and will bring the hidden talents of Pakistan which will ultimately help eradicate the poverty in Pakistan.

If you would like to know Dynamic work of AHAN in detail please visit www.ahan.org.pk

 

 

I was exposed to the great work of AHAN during my last Pakistan visit by my colleague Shakeel Abro, who has huge potential and leadership skills. I always call him factory of ideas. He has not only ideas but he knows how to execute them efficiently. Being a colleague, I learned one thing from him: If you are not learning, you are not growing. If you are not growing-you are not progressing towards excellence. I found him a factory of ideas. Reviving Hope must be one of it. When Shakeel emailed me report of an exhibition called “Reviving Hope” Embellished Textile Exhibition, organized by AHAN held at the Expo Center, Lahore, I was surprised to see the number of participation and the miracles of skills and talents our women artisans have.

Comments
  1. IMRAN AIJAZ DEAF says:

    DEAR SIR,

    GOOD YOU

    I HAVE RECEIVED YOUR INFORMATION THROUGH INTERNET.
    I AM MR,IMRAN AIJAZ A DEAF AND DUMB PERSON LIVING FROM HAND TO MOUTH. I AM A VERY MIDDLE CLASS PERSON.
    AND THE ONLY SUPPORT TO MY FAMILY AND CHILDRENS. I NEED YOUR HELP. IF YOU CAN GIVE ME ANY MONEY SO I WILL BE VERY THANKFUL TO YOU. AND IF I CAN SO I WILL ALSO HELP YOU IN FUTURE AS WELL.
    I REALLY NEED MONEY FOR MY FAMILY NOT FOR ME.
    I HOPE YOU WILL CONSIDER MY REQUEST AND HELP ME. AND I AM SURE YOU WILL UNDERSTAND MY SITUATION.
    I SHALL BE VERY THANKFUL TO YOU IF YOU WILL HELP ME AND TRANSFER SOME MONEY POOR DEAF TO ME.
    INVITATION LETTER OF YOUR VISA GOVERNMENT SUPPLY COME BUSINESS.
    YOU CAN ALSO CONTACT MY DAUGHTER ON HER NUMBER 092-342-2529802
    THANKS & REGARDS.
    E.MAIL.imranbelt@live.com
    imranbelt@gmail.com

    IMRAN AIJAZ
    DEAF & DUMB

Leave a Reply

